Election Deadlines

The following election deadlines are based on Nebraska Law. Statewide election deadlines are provided to the Election Commission by the Secretary of State and are approved by the Attorney General.

2021 SID Levy Override 2021-07-13

Monday, April 26, 2021 First day Election Commission can Provide List of Property Owners to Clerks
Friday, June 11, 2021 Submission of a certified copy of resolution to Election Commission
Wednesday, June 23, 2021 Deadline for SID Clerk to Send Notice of Election to District Owners
Wednesday, June 23, 2021 Deadline to Mail Ballots to Entitled Voters
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 SID Election Day
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 Ballot Return Deadline, 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 11, 2021 Deadline for Election Commission to Bill Attorneys for SID Election
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 Deadline for SID Attorneys to Pay for Election Costs

2021 SID

Tuesday, June 1, 2021 Deadline for Election Commission to Determine which SIDs are Required to Hold an Election
Monday, June 28, 2021 First day Election Commission can Provide List of Property Owners to Clerks
Thursday, July 1, 2021 Deadline for Election Commission to Notify SID Clerks that an Election is Required
Friday, July 9, 2021 Deadline for SID Clerk to Send Notice of Election to District Owners
Monday, July 26, 2021 Candidate Filing Deadline
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 Deadline to Mail Ballots to Entitled Voters
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 SID Election Day
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 Ballot Return Deadline, 5:00 p.m.
Friday, November 12, 2021 Deadline for Election Commission to Bill Attorneys for SID Election
Wednesday, January 12, 2022 Deadline for SID Attorneys to Pay for Election Costs

2021 Fremont Public Schools Bond Election

Monday, August 23, 2021 Ballots mailed to voters within the Fremont Public School District.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for mailed voter registrations to be postmarked.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for voter registration at agencies.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for voter registration at DMV office.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for voter registration by deputy registrar, 6:00 p.m.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for voter registration form to be delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering, for the person to be registered to vote in an upcoming election.
Friday, August 27, 2021 Deadline for online voter registration, prior to midnight.
Friday, September 3, 2021 Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6:00 p.m.
Friday, September 3, 2021 Deadline for voter to request a replacement ballot to be mailed, 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 Fremont Public Schools Bond Election Day.
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 Deadline for voter to submit a statement for a replacement ballot in person at election commission office, 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 Deadline to return all ballots to election commission office or drop box location, 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 23, 2021 Deadline for verification of provisional ballots, 5:00 p.m.

2021 Ralston & Westside Schools Special Elections

Monday, September 20, 2021 Ballots mailed to voters within Ralston Public Schools and Westside Community Schools.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for mailed voter registrations to be postmarked.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for voter registration at agencies.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for voter registration at DMV office.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for voter registration by deputy registrar, 6:00 p.m.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for voter registration form to be delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering, for the person to be registered to vote in an upcoming election.
Friday, September 24, 2021 Deadline for online voter registration, prior to midnight.
Friday, October 1, 2021 Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6:00 p.m.
Friday, October 1, 2021 Deadline for voter to request a replacement ballot to be mailed, 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Ralston Public Schools Bond Election Day and Westside Community Schools Levy Override Election Day.
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Deadline for voter to submit a statement for a replacement ballot in person at election commission office, 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Deadline to return all ballots to election commission office or drop box location, 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 21, 2021 Deadline for verification of provisional ballots, 5:00 p.m.